Tuesday, 13 September 2011

Bad Faith Awards 2011: put forward your nominations

Dear reader, our blog has moved to a new address.

Do come on over (and change your bookmarks accordingly): rationalist.org.uk

At the end of each year, we give New Humanist readers the chance to vote to decide the winner of our annual Bad Faith Award, which we launched back in 2007 as a means for dishonouring the year's most outspoken enemy of reason. Last year the award went to Sheikh Maulana Abu Sayeed, the head of the UK Islamic Sharia Council, following his assertion that it is not possible for a man to commit rape within marriage. Previously the award has gone to the Pope (2009), Sarah Palin (2008) and Dinesh D'Souza (2007).

Before the voting opens later this year, we need to put together a shortlist of nominees, which is why I'm inviting you to share your nominations by commenting on this post. It's not as though 2011 has been a stand-out year for rationality, as a quick scroll down our blog, or a flick through some of our recent back issues, highlights. Just looking at our last few issues, I'm seeing a few potential champions – there's past nominee Anjem Choudary with his attempt to set up "Sharia Controlled Zones" in the UK, for example, or evangelical US preacher Pat Robertson, who suggested that New York's legalisation of gay marriage could mean the end of American civilisation. And no doubt some of you will be looking to nominate the Conservative MP Nadine Dorries following her failed efforts to impose a ban on abortion providers offering counselling to women seeking their services, as well as for introducing legislation that would lead to abstinence-based sex education for girls.

That's surely just the tip of the iceberg, and I urge you to help get the nomination process started by leaving a comment on this post, preferably with a supporting web link. The shortlist and poll will appear in November.
blog comments powered by Disqus