Friday, 22 February 2008

Alcohol content of crisps shocks Muslims

Dear reader, our blog has moved to a new address.

Do come on over (and change your bookmarks accordingly): rationalist.org.uk

If you're wondering why it's been so quiet on the blog this week, we've been hard at work producing the March/April issue of New Humanist, which comes out the first week in March. There's loads of great stuff in there, details of which will be revealed in due course.

In the meantime, prepare yourselves for the shock story of the day – senior British Muslims are deeply troubled to learn that Walkers' crisps contain traces of alcohol. According to The Times a small amount of alcohol is used in the production process "as a chemical agent to extract flavour".

Shuja Shafi, chair of the Muslim Council of Britain's food standards committee, was quick to express his discomfort at the news: “Certainly we would find it very offensive to have eaten food with alcohol.”

Despite the outrage, Walkers were unmoved by demands to include a warning on crisp packets, with a spokesperson saying “There is not enough room on the packaging to list things beyond allergy-causing ingredients that can make people ill. A minimal amount of alcohol is used to extract the flavour of some crisps.”

[Thanks Christina]

4 comments:

Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Skeptic_Al said...

So you mean I'm a (medically treatable) alchoholic, and not actually just a fat b*st*rd? Allah be praised!

Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Norman said...

I thought that alcohol is "haram" in islam only because it makes you drunk. I have yet to see someone getting drunk eating chips.

Shall we test this? I will buy huge bags of salty, chemical death today.